comes of the name of its owner “Richo” associated with that of his domain “Richovilla” which will become “Richovilare” and Riquewihr. “
“Richovilare “with the surrounding villages, in the 12th century belonged to the Counts of Horbourg. Riquewihr was then dominated by a castle, the” Reichenstein ” which later became a den of robbers knights, the castle was destroyed in 1269 under the leadership of Rudolf of Habsburg
After a period of disorder, Riquewihr experienced a significant population and economic growth through the development of its vineyards. To protect people and property, Count Horbourg did surround the town walls and ditches in 1291 : therefore, Riquewihr was elevated to city, enjoying a certain reputation in the country. From this time, there are significant remains (the dungeon Reichenstein Sembach in the valley of the wall north and west …) and iconic witnesses became the first monuments of the city, the belfry tower Dolder and the Tower of Thieves.
Under the government of Württemberg-Montbéliard, Riquewihr, the city had a long happy time, at least until the Thirty Years’ War: the flourishing wine trade was exported throughout the Empire and the Hanseatic countries led to a prosperity as evidenced by the remarkable houses dating mainly from the 16th century.
In the 17th century, during the Thirty Years’ War (1618-1648), the army, under various banners, overran Alsace and terribly devastated the country.
After the French Revolution, the Württemberg have been forced to abandon their possessions on the left bank of the Rhin, Riquewihr is permanently attached to France in 1796 by the Treaty of Paris.
Regularly besieged, often in search of identity, still standing, the town of Riquewihr, ranked among “the most beautiful villages of France” has established itself over the centuries as a rare site, a rich history and exceptional a unique geographical beauty, which, with its two million visitors per year, earned him the undisputed title and envied the “Pearl of the Vineyard.”